Thorne Berberine vs 4 Others: Scored on Form, Purity and Proof
Updated on Oct 2, 2026
Table of contents
Thorne Berberine is a well-built bottle, so the real question is how it holds up against four simple checks.
You searched Thorne Berberine because you've already done the reading.
You know the name. You've seen the NSF mark. Maybe it's already in your cart.
We make one of these.
So we checked Thorne first, then held five bottles to the same four checks we built ours to pass.
The checks come first, so you can use them on any label. Then the ranking.
Thorne Berberine, checked first
Thorne Berberine pairs two forms of berberine in each 2-capsule serving: 450 mg of berberine HCl from Indian barberry root, plus 550 mg of berberine phytosome.
That pairing makes sense. Plain berberine is poorly absorbed, and a phytosome form raised blood berberine more than standard berberine in a study of 12 healthy adults (1).
It carries the NSF Contents Certified mark. Thorne says it tests for identity, purity, potency, heavy metals, pesticides and microbes.
At time of writing, it's $44 for 60 capsules. At 2 capsules a day, that's 1.47/day(44 ÷ 30 days).
One number is missing. The label lists 450 mg of berberine HCl from an extract, and Thorne's website doesn't publish the purity of that ingredient, checked Oct 2026.
A purity number tells you how much of each capsule is the berberine you're paying for.
The 4 checks that matter
Berberine bottles look alike from the front. The differences are on the back.
Hold any bottle to these four. Each one has a clear pass.
1. Every amount on the label. Each berberine form is listed in mg. No proprietary blend. If a form has no number next to it, it fails.
2. A form built for absorption, with human data. Look for a berberine form that a human study showed raises blood berberine above standard berberine. A phytosome is one example (1).
3. Purity as a number. Look for a percentage next to the berberine HCl, such as 97%. A seal confirms the label matches the bottle. A purity number tells you what share of that ingredient is berberine.
4. An outside lab on every batch. Look for a named seal like NSF, or a stated independent lab. It should check the dose plus heavy metals and microbes.
Pass all four and you know what's in the bottle, how it's built to absorb, and who checked it.
How the top 5 compare
| Product | Checks passed | Berberine per serving | Cost per day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Omre Berberine | 4 of 4 | 600 mg HCl + 400 mg phytosome | $1.63 |
| Toniiq Berberine 97% | 3 of 4 | 500 mg HCl | $0.33 |
| Thorne Berberine | 3 of 4 | 450 mg HCl + 550 mg phytosome | $1.47 |
| Pure Encapsulations Berberine UltraSorb | 2 of 4 | 550 mg phytosome | $0.86 |
| Nutricost Berberine | 1 of 4 | 600 mg HCl | $0.35 |
Cost per day uses each brand's label serving and one-time price at time of writing, checked Oct 2026. Ties are ranked by lower cost per day.
The 5 best berberine supplements, ranked
Our pick is Omre Berberine, because it's the only bottle here that passes all four checks.
1. Omre Berberine: Passes all four checks
Checks passed: 4 of 4
Dose: 600 mg berberine HCl + 400 mg berberine phytosome per 2-capsule serving
Purity proof: 97% purity berberine HCl. Every batch independently tested for dose, purity, heavy metals and microbes.
Cost per day: 1.63(49 ÷ 30 servings), or $1.55 on a monthly subscription
Guarantee: 30-day money-back guarantee
The same two-form idea as Thorne, with the purity on the label.
The 600 mg of berberine HCl is listed at 97% purity, so you know the berberine share of every capsule. That's 150 mg more berberine HCl per serving than Thorne's 450 mg.
The 400 mg of berberine phytosome is the form a human study showed is absorbed better than standard berberine (1).
Every amount is on the label. No blends. And every batch goes to an outside lab before it ships.
"I like OMRE products for being natural without fillers." — Susan U., verified buyer
See the formula that passes all four checks →
2. Toniiq Berberine 97%: Proven purity, plain form
Checks passed: 3 of 4
Dose: 500 mg berberine HCl per capsule, up to 3 a day
Purity proof: 97% stated. NSF certified, with a certificate of analysis on its product page.
Cost per day: 0.33(29.97 ÷ 90 capsules, 1 capsule a day)
Guarantee: 60-day money-back guarantee
Where it's strong: its purity and testing are as clear as any bottle here.
Where it falls short: absorption. It uses plain berberine HCl only, with no form backed by human absorption data, checked Oct 2026.
3. Thorne Berberine: Dual form, purity unpublished
Checks passed: 3 of 4
Dose: 450 mg berberine HCl + 550 mg berberine phytosome per 2 capsules
Purity proof: NSF Contents Certified. HCl purity not published.
Cost per day: 1.47(44 ÷ 30 servings of 2 capsules)
Guarantee: 60-day satisfaction guarantee, with a 25% restocking fee on approved returns
Where it's strong: two forms, every amount listed, and NSF certification behind it.
Where it falls short: purity as a number. The berberine HCl purity isn't published on its website, checked Oct 2026.
4. Pure Encapsulations Berberine UltraSorb: Absorption form, no named lab
Checks passed: 2 of 4
Dose: 550 mg berberine phytosome per capsule, 1 to 2 a day
Purity proof: Purity not published. No independent lab or seal named for batch testing.
Cost per day: 0.86(51.50 ÷ 60 capsules, 1 capsule a day)
Guarantee: Not stated on its product page, checked Oct 2026
Where it's strong: it uses the phytosome form studied in healthy adults (1).
Where it falls short: purity isn't published, and its website names no independent lab or seal for batch testing, checked Oct 2026.
5. Nutricost Berberine: Simple HCl, budget price
Checks passed: 1 of 4
Dose: 600 mg berberine HCl per capsule
Purity proof: Purity not published. Tested by ISO-accredited labs, with contaminants not specified.
Cost per day: 0.35(20.97 ÷ 60 capsules, 1 capsule a day)
Guarantee: 60-day money-back guarantee
Where it's strong: a clear 600 mg dose at a low price, with outside-lab label testing.
Where it falls short: plain HCl only, no published purity, and its page doesn't say whether testing covers heavy metals or microbes, checked Oct 2026.
The proof behind our #1
Omre was founded by Dr. Pedram Kordrostami, a London-trained medical doctor who practiced in the NHS. Founded by a doctor, for his family.
Every batch goes to an outside lab before it reaches you.
The lab checks dose, purity and contaminants, including heavy metals and microbes. The certificate of analysis is shown on the product page.
Omre Berberine is made in the USA in a GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility.
More than 200,000 customers use Omre. The brand has been featured in Forbes, Yahoo Life, GQ and Healthline.
It's HSA/FSA eligible through Truemed. Every order is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee.
See the lab report on the product page →
Questions before you buy
How much berberine is in Thorne Berberine?
Each 2-capsule serving lists 450 mg berberine HCl plus 550 mg berberine phytosome. Listings that say 1,000 mg add the two forms together. Omre's 2-capsule serving lists 600 mg berberine HCl at 97% purity plus 400 mg berberine phytosome.
Is Thorne Berberine 200 mg the same product?
No. Thorne sells it separately, and its website lists 200 mg of berberine HCl per capsule. The product scored here is Thorne's two-form Berberine, SKU SF800.
Is berberine safe for me?
Do not use Omre Berberine if you are pregnant, nursing or under 18. If you take prescription medication, especially medication that lowers blood sugar, ask your doctor first. Take it with food, as the label directs.
Why pay more than a cheaper bottle?
A lower price buys fewer checks. At $1.63 a day, Omre gives you 97% purity berberine HCl, a phytosome form for absorption, and an outside lab on every batch. In our last customer survey, 93% said evidence matters more to them than price.
Do I have to subscribe?
No. A one-time purchase is $49. Subscribe & Save takes 5% off a 1-month supply, 10% off a 3-month supply, or 20% off a 6-month supply. Cancel, skip or pause anytime.
The bottom line
Choose the bottle that passes the most checks. Then compare price.
Thorne Berberine passes three. Omre Berberine is the only one here that passes all four: 97% purity berberine HCl paired with a phytosome form, and an outside lab on every batch.
It's backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Choose your supply below, one-time or subscription.
About the author
Dr. Sara Alisha Khan, MD, PGDMLE
Table of contents