The Best Berberine Supplement in 2026: 5 Bottles, 4 Quality Checks
Updated on Oct 2, 2026
Table of contents
Every berberine bottle says high quality, but few show the purity number, the absorption form and the lab behind it.
You've searched for the best berberine supplement. You've compared the labels. Maybe you've tried a bottle already.
You've seen how far apart they are. 500 mg on one, 1,200 mg on the next. Plain powder here, a phytosome there.
We make one of these.
So we held all five to the same four checks we built ours to pass.
Use the checks on any bottle. Then see how the five score.
What most berberine labels leave out
The number on the front is a claim. A lab test shows whether the bottle holds it.
Researchers bought 15 berberine supplements in the US and measured what was inside. On average, the capsules held 75% of the berberine on the label. 9 of the 15 fell outside 90% to 110% of their label claim. Price didn't predict which ones passed (1).
Absorption is the second gap. Plain berberine is poorly absorbed. In a study of 12 healthy adults, a berberine phytosome raised blood berberine more than standard berberine, with no side effects seen (2).
Of the 8 bottles we shortlisted, 5 use plain berberine HCl as their only form.
High quality berberine shows you its numbers before you buy.
4 checks for high quality berberine
Hold any bottle to these four. Each one has a clear pass.
1. Every amount on the label. Each berberine form is listed in mg. No proprietary blend. A form with no number next to it fails.
2. A form built for absorption, with human data. Look for a form that a human study showed raises blood berberine above standard berberine. A phytosome is one example (2).
3. Purity as a number. Look for a percentage on the brand's site, such as 97% next to the berberine HCl. The word "pure" has no number behind it.
4. An outside lab on every batch. Look for a named seal like NSF, or a stated independent lab. It should check the dose plus heavy metals and microbes.
Pass all four and you know what's in the bottle, how it's built to absorb, and who checked it.
How the top 5 compare
| Product | Checks passed | Berberine per serving | Cost per day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Omre Berberine | 4 of 4 | 600 mg HCl + 400 mg phytosome | $1.63 |
| Toniiq Berberine 97% | 3 of 4 | 500 mg HCl | $0.33 |
| Thorne Berberine | 3 of 4 | 450 mg HCl + 550 mg phytosome | $1.47 |
| Pure Encapsulations Berberine UltraSorb | 2 of 4 | 550 mg phytosome | $0.86 |
| Nutricost Berberine | 1 of 4 | 600 mg HCl | $0.35 |
Cost per day uses each brand's label serving and one-time price at time of writing, checked Oct 2026. Ties are ranked by lower cost per day.
The best berberine supplement, ranked
Our pick for the best berberine is Omre Berberine. It's the only bottle here that passes all four checks.
1. Omre Berberine: Passes all four checks
Checks passed: 4 of 4
Dose: 600 mg berberine HCl + 400 mg berberine phytosome per 2-capsule serving
Purity proof: 97% purity berberine HCl. Every batch independently tested for dose, purity, heavy metals and microbes.
Cost per day: 1.63(49 ÷ 30 servings), or $1.55 on a monthly subscription
Guarantee: 30-day money-back guarantee
Two forms in one daily serving.
The 600 mg of berberine HCl is listed at 97% purity, so you know the berberine share of every capsule.
The 400 mg of berberine phytosome is the form a human study showed is absorbed better than standard berberine (2).
Every amount is on the label. No blends. And every batch goes to an outside lab before it ships.
"I like OMRE products for being natural without fillers." — Susan U., verified buyer
See the formula that passes all four checks →
2. Toniiq Berberine 97%: Proven purity, plain form
Checks passed: 3 of 4
Dose: 500 mg berberine HCl per capsule, up to 3 a day
Purity proof: 97% stated. NSF certified, with a certificate of analysis on its product page.
Cost per day: 0.33(29.97 ÷ 90 capsules, 1 capsule a day)
Guarantee: 60-day money-back guarantee
Where it's strong: its purity and testing are as clear as any bottle here.
Where it falls short: absorption. It uses plain berberine HCl only, with no form backed by human absorption data, checked Oct 2026.
3. Thorne Berberine: Dual form, purity unpublished
Checks passed: 3 of 4
Dose: 450 mg berberine HCl + 550 mg berberine phytosome per 2 capsules
Purity proof: NSF Contents Certified. HCl purity not published.
Cost per day: 1.47(44 ÷ 30 servings of 2 capsules)
Guarantee: 60-day satisfaction guarantee, with a 25% restocking fee on approved returns
Where it's strong: the formula closest to ours, with NSF certification behind it.
Where it falls short: purity as a number. The berberine HCl purity isn't published on its website, checked Oct 2026.
4. Pure Encapsulations Berberine UltraSorb: Absorption form, no named lab
Checks passed: 2 of 4
Dose: 550 mg berberine phytosome per capsule, 1 to 2 a day
Purity proof: Purity not published. No independent lab or seal named for batch testing.
Cost per day: 0.86(51.50 ÷ 60 capsules, 1 capsule a day)
Guarantee: Not stated on its product page, checked Oct 2026
Where it's strong: it uses the phytosome form studied in healthy adults (2).
Where it falls short: purity isn't published on its website, and it names no independent lab or seal for batch testing, checked Oct 2026.
5. Nutricost Berberine: Simple HCl, budget price
Checks passed: 1 of 4
Dose: 600 mg berberine HCl per capsule
Purity proof: Purity not published. Tested by ISO-accredited labs, with contaminants not specified.
Cost per day: 0.35(20.97 ÷ 60 capsules, 1 capsule a day)
Guarantee: 60-day money-back guarantee
Where it's strong: a clear 600 mg dose at a low price, with outside-lab label testing.
Where it falls short: plain HCl only, no published purity, and its website doesn't say whether testing covers heavy metals or microbes, checked Oct 2026.
The proof behind our #1
Omre was founded by Dr. Pedram Kordrostami, a London-trained medical doctor who practiced in the NHS. Founded by a doctor, for his family.
Every batch goes to an outside lab before it reaches you.
The lab checks dose, purity and contaminants, including heavy metals and microbes. The certificate of analysis is on the product page.
Omre Berberine is made in the USA in a GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility.
More than 200,000 customers use Omre, and over 8 million doses have been sold. Omre has been featured in Forbes, Yahoo Life, GQ and Healthline.
It's HSA/FSA eligible through Truemed. Every order is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee.
See the lab report on the product page →
Questions before you buy
Is berberine safe for me?
Do not use it if you are pregnant, nursing or under 18. If you take prescription medication, especially medication that lowers blood sugar, ask your doctor first. Take it with food, as the label directs.
What's the best berberine to take?
Berberine HCl is the most common form, and its purity is easy to compare. Berberine phytosome pairs berberine with phospholipids, and a human study found it raised blood berberine more than standard berberine (2). Omre uses both.
How much berberine is in each serving?
Omre's daily serving is 2 capsules with food: 600 mg berberine HCl plus 400 mg berberine phytosome. When you compare bottles, check the amount of each form, the purity, and how many capsules make one serving.
Why pay more than a cheaper bottle?
In the lab test of 15 berberine supplements, price didn't predict which bottles held their label claim (1). The checks do. At $1.63 a day, Omre passes all four. In our last customer survey, 93% said evidence matters more to them than price.
Do I have to subscribe?
No. A one-time purchase is $49. Subscribe & Save takes 5% off a 1-month supply, 10% off a 3-month supply, or 20% off a 6-month supply. Skip, pause or cancel at any moment.
The bottom line
Choose the bottle that passes the most checks. Then compare price.
Omre Berberine is the only one here that passes all four. It pairs 97% purity berberine HCl with a phytosome form, and an outside lab checks every batch.
It's backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Choose your supply below, one-time or subscription.
About the author
Dr. Sara Alisha Khan, MD, PGDMLE
Table of contents